in ,

AMC Networks Launches Book Publishing Division

Creepshow Coffee Table Book is Among Projects Set For Release This Year

AMC Networks announces that it is launching its own book publishing department to produce books, comics, graphic novels, and more based on some of their networks’ popular series.  

Projects set to debut this year include works produced by Metallica lead guitarist Kirk Hammett, New York Times Best Selling author Brenden Fletcher (Batgirl, Gotham Academy), a graphic novel based on the popular Acorn TV series Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, and a coffee table book on the hit anthology series, Creepshow.

The coffee table book, currently under the working title Shudder’s Creepshow: From Script to Scream, is the first set for release this year. Written by Dennis Prince, designed by John J. Hill, and co-produced by Julia Hobgood, the book will give fans a detailed behind-the-scenes look at the hit series from its origins to all aspects of its production. Hammett wrote a foreword for the book and horror author Stephen King wrote an afterword. 

Creepshow’s producer, Greg Nicotero, said “I grew up wearing down my fingertips paging through books on the making of my favorite movies […] I was ravenous to learn the behind-the-scenes secrets. So, I’m excited to be able to present a glimpse behind the making of this epic show!”A man opens his mouth in a scream as he opens a book.

If you’re a fan of the hit Acorn TV series Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, a graphic novel, Miss Fisher’s First Mysteries is also set to be released. Miss Fisher’s First Mysteries (working title) takes place in the year 1917 and the mystery kicks off when the titular character’s childhood friend is accused of murder.

Hammett worked with writer Marcel Feldmar on a two comic series, The Nights of Lono, which takes place in Hawaii in 1989. Hammett and Feldmar’s story follows a female detective who is in a race against time as she must find a king’s tomb before an “unscrupulous occultist” does. 

Fletcher wrote a folk horror mystery series under the working title, Oubliette which tells the story of a woman who struggled to break free from the confines of her small town and returns for her father’s funeral. The story follows the character as she explores her father’s mysterious death in a sinkhole in the lake that’s the center of local lore which says, “If you were born of the earth around the lake, then around the lake you shall stay until you return to the earth.”

AMC Networks decided to segue into publishing based on the success of its best-selling coffee table book, The Art of AMC’s The Walking Dead Universe.

The head of AMC Networks Publishing Mike Zagari said, “We’re excited to launch this new initiative with talented creators, writers, artists, and storytellers to further engage our passionate fan bases with the stories and characters they love, as well as open the doors to discover new and compelling worlds.” 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Written by MD Bastek

Just a person who loves horror and writes about unusual things

The Batman poster depicting Batman in the rain over red hues.

The Batman Lives in Societal Grey Areas

Wake in Fright

Wake in Fright Asks You About Your Inner Yabba Man